SLIDER

Beyond Green Gables: For Anne Fans at Every Age


Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery is one of the books that I credit with making me into the reader that I am today, and I've loved reading many of Montgomery's other works. She was a prolific writer! A few years ago, I co-hosted a Return to Green Gables event with Rachel from Hello, Chelly and Alexa from Alexa Loves Books. It is my favorite blogging collaboration, and my discussion post about what Anne and Gilbert taught me about romance is the post I'm most proud of in my seven years of blogging. 

To say that I'm an L.M. Montgomery lover would be an understatement! I devoured this almost 700-page biography of her a few years ago and can never resist Anne-related merchandise (like this mug from Carrot Top Paper Shop that I just bought). Recently, I felt like I was seeing Anne everywhere in the bookish world! After some digging on Goodreads, I was shocked to realize there have been at least 16 books released in the past year that are perfect for fans of Anne Shirley and her creator. So, I've rounded them up in one post! And if you notice that I'm missing any, please leave a link in the comments. I just keep adding more to my online shopping cart...

FIRST COLUMN

Anne's Numbers by Kelly Hill – A darling board board with hand-embroidered illustrations that counts items in Anne's world (one cherry tree, two butterflies, etc.). Such a cute introduction to Anne!

Anne of Green Gables: A Graphic Novel by Mariah Marsden (Adapter) and Brenna Thummler (Illustrator) – A beautifully illustrated graphic novel adaptation! Beloved scenes from Anne are elevated by this artwork.

The Landscapes of Anne of Green Gables by Catherine Reid – A stunning coffee table book that pays tribute to Prince Edward Island. Any Anne reader knows that the setting plays such a profound role in the series!

Maud by Melanie Fishbane – A young adult historical fiction novel exploring Montgomery's adolescence. If you want to see her early inspiration for Anne and her lifelong dream of becoming a writer, this book fits the bill.

SECOND COLUMN

Anne's Colors by Kelly Hill – Another board book with embroidered illustrations that teaches colors using Anne-related items (green gables, pink cheeks, etc.). This one is a little more tied to the books than the numbers version.

Anne of Green Gables (BabyLit) by Jennifer Adams – This lovely addition to the popular BabyLit series pairs places (Pond) with a relevant quote from the book ("The Lake of Shining Waters was a glory of many shifting hues").

Goodnight, Anne by Kallie George – A picture book illustrated by the talented Geneviève Godbout in which Anne says goodnight to everything and everyone she loves. Adorable, particularly for readers already familiar with Anne.

House of Dreams: The Story of L.M. Montgomery by Liz Rosenberg – A Montgomery biography written for young adults and accompanied by illustrations from Julie Morstad. Perfect for fans who want to learn more about LMM!

THIRD COLUMN

L.M. Montgomery (Little People, Big Dreams) by Mª Isabel Sánchez Vegara – A recent addition to this picture book series that highlights inspiring women with big dreams. Such a great big picture look at LMM's life and work!

The Blythes are Quoted by L.M. Montgomery – This collection of short stories was intended to be the ninth book in the Anne series. Previously published in a severely abridged form, this is Montgomery's last work in its entirety.

Marilla of Green Gables by Sarah McCoy – An adult historical fiction novel that imagines the young life of Marilla Cuthbert. Experience Prince Edward Island in the nineteenth century and life at Green Gables before Anne!

FOURTH COLUMN

Anne of Green Gables (BabyLit Storybook) by Stephanie Clarkson – The Babylit Storybook version is geared towards preschoolers and retells the story of Anne Shirley. The art by Annabel Tempest brings it to life!

Anne Arrives by Kallie George – The first book in a new early-reader series about Anne Shirley! Illustrated by Abigail Halpin, this one focuses on the first few chapters of the novel when Anne arrives at Green Gables.

The Anne of Green Gables Cookbook by Kate Macdonald – From Anne's Liniment Cake to Diana Barry's Favorite Raspberry Cordial, these recipes are inspired by the food mentioned throughout the Anne of Green Gables series. 

The Story Girl and The Golden Road by L.M. Montgomery – New editions of Anne seem to be published  every few months, but I had to highlight this lesser-known Montgomery duology with gorgeous covers by Elly McKay.

What's your favorite book inspired by Anne Shirley or her creator?

3 comments

  1. OH MY GOSH. THANK YOU for this. My Christmas list has just grown exponentially!

    ReplyDelete
  2. This is amazing! Rachel made me want to read the Marilla book but I haven't heard of Anne Arrives before! I love the cover!

    ReplyDelete
  3. I’m so excited to by the Babylit storybook as a holiday present. We have one already (The Secret Garden) which I love, and can’t wait to add more to our collection.

    ReplyDelete

© So Obsessed With • Theme by Maira G.